Poly-Passionate… Or Whatever

I am a Renaissance Woman.

When I was a little girl, I loved the word “renaissance” because it brought to mind brilliant billowing gowns, stone castles, and portrait-lined hallways.

So, naturally, I feel fancy when I call myself a “Renaissance Woman.” But Renaissance Women don’t really wear brilliant, billowing gowns. Well, they might, but that is not the reason for which they hold the title they do. See, calling someone a “Renaissance Woman” is really just an elaborate way of saying “They don’t know what they are doing with their life.”

That is how I see it, for the moment, at least.

I love to write, I love to paint, I love to perform music, I love to teach, I love to create, I love to dance, and so on. But having all those interests seems almost more like a curse than a gift.

I am a passionate person, but I cannot contain my passion to just one or two things.

Perhaps I am just poly-amorous. OR poly-passionate. Yeah, let’s go with that. “Poly-passionate” sound more politically correct.

I am a poly-passionate person who doesn’t really know what she’s doing with her life. I have no idea what career I will end up holding, or what passions I will carry through the years. But maybe I don’t have to know. Maybe this just adds an exciting twist to my adventure through life.

As I think about this, I am reminded of a favorite TED talk of mine. This talk by Emilie Wapnick is short and sweet and gives great insight into both the curse and the gift sides of being a poly-passionate person, or as Wapnick would say, a “Multipotentialite.” I encourage you to take just 12 minutes to watch it– it’s shorter, and arguably more intellectually provocative than a Netflix binge.

As always, Tanya

 

P.S. Happy first day of June!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

