Meditating On Scripture

Recently I have become quite fond of memorizing scripture. When I am in a difficult situation, the ability to recite comforting verses in my mind is truly a gift. And sometimes when I do not know how to go about my quiet time with God, I will begin by focusing on short verses.

The problem that I sometimes face with this, however, is that I memorize the words without thinking about their signifance to me and my life; I do not fully appreciate their meaning.

So, to tackle this, I will occasionally take a verse that catches my soul and write it down along with a personal interpretation so that I have an easier time understanding it in application to myself.

Below is the verse I focused on today. I want to share it with you. This verse is important to me now as I struggle with an undiagnosed illness and tackle feelings of despair (tackle them successfully), but I think it is packed with truth that most anyone can appreciate.

…………………………………………………………….

Verse:

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”    – Psalm 73:26

My Interpretation:

I cannot rely on my own body or my own soul.  These alone are not mighty. But the Lord, my Heavenly Father, can give strength to the weakest of things. Because he is in me, I will continue on with vigor. Because he is in me, I will never despair.

……………………………………………………………..

If you care to share, I would be glad to know your various methods for delving into scripture and having devotional/quiet time

 

With peace, as always,

Tanya

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meditating On Scripture

  1. I’ll be praying for your illness and for strength for you and those around you. ❤️ I have found that it is important for me to not only read the bible but to find correlations between what I’m reading and what is going on in my day to day life.

    Like

  2. Thank you for the prayers! I am so glad that there are multiple ways to enjoy the word of God!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Geo Sans says:

    be still

    and know

    that I

    am god

    ~

    psalm 46:10

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Memorising scripture is SO important! It means you can be recalling it and thinking about it and tucking it away in your heart for whenever you need it.

    Psalm 1 says our delight should be in the word of God, and we should be “meditating on it day and night”.

    I remember reading about a missionary called Richard Wurmbrand, who was imprisoned in Romania for preaching about God (back when that was illegal). The only Bible he had for years and years was the parts he had memorised. Thankfully, he had memorised whole books of scripture (because he lived somewhere it was unsafe/illegal to be carrying a Bible around). I thought to myself, “If I was imprisoned today, and the only Bible I had was what I had memorised… how much of the Bible would I have?”
    I was ashamed.

    So last year, I started memorising some of the Psalms (I memorised 1, 8, 15, and 23). I’m planning to add at least Psalms 25, 27, and 73 to that list this year. I’d also like to memorise the book of Romans – but that seems like a BIG task for my poor foggy brain!

    That’s generally not for my quiet time though. I mean, I will have a quiet time about the passage before I memorise it (I’ll read it though, pray about it, read commentaries on it, look up some of the original Hebrew meanings etc) to make sure I really understand it. But after that, memorising it is separate to my quiet time.

    For my quiet times last year, I was working through books of the Bible, listening to old sermons from Church (they’re all available online), and reading through the passages. After I worked my way through those, I worked through several of RC Sproul’s series on YouTube (for example, I watched the Reformed Theology series, and the Assurance Of Salvation series). I’d watch the video, pausing to take notes, and look up Bible passages. Then I’d pray about what I’d learned, and pick something to think about throughout the day. Then, when my husband came home from work, we’d discuss it 🙂

    xx S.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh man, I love those ideas! Thank you for sharing. I am definitely going to approach scripture memorization with this in mind.

    And youtube sermons are great, aren’t they? Especially for when we just don’t feel well enough to go to church.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

