My Cup Overflows (whether He takes it or not)

Here’s a little something that’s short and sweet:

Since the marijuana incident two months ago, I have been struggling with spiritual warfare. As I struggle with the fear of this spiritual warfare, the Lord is teaching me that I must leave not only my desires and material belongings behind, but I must also abandon my fears in order to continue to follow Him. Fear has no place in the Kingdom of God. Not fear of pain, not fear of dying, not fear of demons, not fear of losing everything to gain everything for and through Christ. If Jesus had been afraid he would not have been able to fulfill God’s purpose for him, for us.

*I do believe that Jesus had no fear, although I think he wanted to avoid the pain of crucifixion if he could. Jesus prayed to God on the night of his death, asking that God would “take this cup” from him. Immediately following that request, Jesus gave full and fearless submission to God saying “Yet not what I will, but what you will.” (Mark 14:26, NIV).

To make this a little sweeter and less pungent of a post, might I add that I am so delighted by these different facets of Christian life God is showing to me. The way He molds his people so that they might fit in their spiritual armor and hold up the church is tough and sometimes almost unbearable- but it is never regrettable. I cannot say that enough. The harvest may be long and tiring, but oh, the fruit we will have to rejoice over once it is done!

………………………..

Peace and Thanksgiving for you, my WordPress Family,

Tanya

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Cup Overflows (whether He takes it or not)

  1. bkmoore says:

    I have been plagued with nightmares since childhood. Fear extremely dominated my life until I began to get to know Christ as a 20 year old. The nightmares have not stopped, but their hold on me has.

    I love : “The way He molds his people so that they might fit in their spiritual armor and hold up the church is tough and sometimes almost unbearable- but it is never regrettable.”

    Amen! My son’s death is tough and sometimes almost unbearable— but Christ is shaping me through my circumstances. He is blessing me and enabling me to bless others. Thank you for sharing your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And thank you for sharing your journey. Sometimes it is powerful to just know somebody else is triumphantly fighting a battle that is similar to your own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

