with vigor

I stare at a brick wall speckled with turquoise paint. A plant in a vase drapes its long limbs over a black pipe that runs across the middle of the wall.

And I think to myself– I haven’t written a poem in quite some time… perhaps this is a good place to start. So I pick up my notebook and push my pencil down with vigor, beginning a new adventure with the words “I stare at a brick wall speckled with turquoise paint. A plant in a vase drapes its long limbs over a black pipe that runs across the middle of the wall–”

And I think to myself how glad I am that I didn’t erase all I just wrote and instead gave my words a change to see if they could speak. And did they? I don’t know, you tell me. But there was at least potential, and potential is invaluable for the writer who seeks inspiration.

………………………………………

Yours,

Tanya (a recovering poet)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to with vigor

  1. Geo Sans says:

    speckled consonants
    and vowels
    ~
    turquoise eggs
    inspiring tomorrow

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with this poem. It is so important as a writer to just sit down and write, abandoning perfectionism, not worrying about what comes out. You can always edit later! http://bit.ly/1ER5cLY

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you. It’s easier said than done, but it is so helpful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

