father, let me cry!

feeling more than i could carry,
burdened with harsh emotion,
I lay desperate on my bed,
calling “Father, let me cry!”
.
So came flowing the tears
and the headache and the redeye;
the suffering enveloped
my uneasy heart
.
tears and tears,
not so usual for me,
were painful
but cherished,
just a few moments later
.
I do not delight in pain,
but I delight in [healthy] relief
and that’s what
those tears gave me
once I released my grief
.
Now I must come full circle,
“thank you Abba
for those tears,”
I may not yet
feel merry
but I do feel more easy, more light.
.
.
A poem by Tanya LaReveur
………………………………………………………………………

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to father, let me cry!

  1. Ecclesiastics 7 states that sorrow is greater than happiness. I think this poem supports those verses. What is gained through laughter? A momentary emotion. Grief teaches lessons, it heals the heart, and makes us better in the long run.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Geo Sans says:

    cleansing …

    Like

Leave a Reply

