enjoying the enigmatic

I feel content today, and I feel like crying. My hands are almost shaking as I type this now. They feel odd, and I’m not sure if that is because of the emotions flowing through my veins, or if it is just a side effect of the medication I am taking. Life is beautiful. I honestly believe that right now. Last night before I went to bed, I made a list of 20 things that make me happy. Parts of it were hard, but I had to understand that happiness doesn’t equal perfection. It doesn’t always come from huge, monumental things. Happy things often come in small packages. I think that’s kind of awesome.

Some of the small things that make me happy are: the smell of snow and cold weather, the smell of wood fires, strangers smiling at me, being inspired by observing people being inspired in coffee shops… you get the gist.

I think I am going to make a habit of making short lists of things that make me happy. Maybe my goal will be to make two short lists each week. And just think– in a year, I will be surrounded with this positivity.

Now, I don’t believe this positivity practice is a cure for depression. Being happy is often much more difficult than it seems, especially when there is a chemical imbalance in your brain, especially when your head is constantly acting as a battlefield between self-loathing, self-loving, and millions of raiding thoughts. That being said, just simple practices that force positive thinking are still essential for not losing that brain battle, not giving into suicidal thoughts.

I don’t know why I feel like crying right now. It may be because I am still technically depressed. It may be because life is beautiful. It may be because I really don’t know what to think. I think I feel almost happy right now. But I almost forget what “truly happy” feels like… Oh well. Pity party finished. This feeling, whatever it is, is not making me want to harm myself (in fact, I haven’t had that urge for almost 3 days now. For me, that is a really big deal). So I’m going to ride this feeling for all that it’s worth, floating on its enigmatic wings.

Enjoy your Sunday. Peace.

Tanya

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

